Milligan Down.

October 21, 2013

As you may know, I was injured during the running of the bulls on July 11, 2013.  See the story in the Pamplona newspaper.  As a steer approached on my left shoulder, a panicked runner plowed into me from behind in what looks like an innocuous collision in the video.  I been involved in many much more dramatic falls, and have fallen many, many times.  Many times.  However, this time I suffered for whatever reason a compound fracture to the ankle.  Since a  suelto (the remaining lone bull) was painfully and obviously behind me still, and the bull ring helper was loudly proclaiming it by screaming suelto and banging his hat on the wall, I limped into the bull ring and went to the right.  I could not get over the wall, and a Basque Red Cross worker came into the ring and laid her body over me to protect me.  Ari found me, and the rest moved rather quickly.  Stretcher; ambulance; hallway; hospital room; OR; recovery room; interviews; and back on the streets for the final morning of the fiesta, July 14.  The night before Ari helped me crawl out to the fireworks and a final dinner, in considerable pain.  But, Ari as my witness, there was no way I was missing out on that final night.

Back in NJ, thanks to the considerable kindness of the Air France flight attendants, and no thanks to the creeps working for US Air, my orthopedic surgeon was very complementary of the work done on my ankle in Pamplona.

When the bullring workers put my leg in a plaster cast, they spilled a chemical on my leg and then wiped it off.  Unbeknownst to me, it did a slow burn, and when I got home, we found a 5×7 third degree burn which required skin graft surgery.  It is still healing (as of 10/21/2013) but is down to the size of the tip of my pinky finger.  Nonetheless, the burn complicated things with recovery from surgery.  I was in a cast under late September as I progressed from wheel chair to scooter to walking boot back into sneakers.

Yes, I drove with my left foot.  Because I was never caught doing it, I now can’t get in trouble.

Today I have done 3 of 12 rehab sessions, and have every intention of going into the Atlantic Ocean, which was denied my company, since early July.  If this turns into a polar bear plunge, so be it.

Oh, we will be back running in Pamplona and we already have our flat rented.

Smiling and drug free.

Smiling and drug free.

Moments before injury.

Moments before injury.

About The Philadelphia Peña and Taurino Club

¡Hola! Founded in 1989 in the Food Court of the Echelon Mall in Voorhees, New Jersey, by Peter N. Milligan and Aryeh ("Ari") L. Deutsch, the Philadelphia Peña and Taurino Club celebrates all things Festival of San Fermín between July 6 and 14, and all things Philadelphia, PA and its surrounds the rest of the year.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

